Historical Information


Sekhukhune District Municipality (SDM) was established in December 2000. It consists of four Local Municipalities, namely Elias Motsoaledi, Ephraim Mogale, Fetakgomo Tubatse, and Makhuduthamaga.

Sekhukhune is an area with a long and proud history. It is also a place of majestic beauty with regal mountains, lush valleys and meandering rivers. Under the soil lie vast deposits of precious metals - so vast that they today contain the largest reserves of platinum group metals in the world. Above its soil sprout more than 2200 indigenous species of vascular plants, making Sekhukhune an area of exceptionally high-biodiversity that is globally recognized. It is a land blessed with natural beauty, unusual resource endowments and a compelling history dating back to the 16th century.

King Sekhukhune 1